Josefinas {Ballet Flats}

josefinas

Back in September 2013, my sister introduced me to Josefinas. Since then, these cute handmade ballet flats have been on my wish-list and an endless source of inspiration for my Polyvore style sets.

I wasn’t planning to get a pair until my other ballet flats were on their way out but fast-forward a little bit over a year and a pretty black and blush shoebox arrived – a birthday present from my husband.

wpid-wp-1423891024150.jpeg

 

I wanted to wear them for a while before making any comments. Now that I’ve done so, here’s what I’ve found.

  1. The leather is extremely soft and comfortable – I thought it would be harder and take some time to adapt to my feet but no, the expression fits like a glove comes to mind.
  2. They are surprisingly warm. Part of collection nº7, Goa is a shoe designed for cooler days, with reinforced inner leather. I could really tell the difference, these last few weeks, between the times when it was hotter and when it was cooler.
  3. They move well from casual weekend to work days (see gallery below for examples).
  4. I am generally a size 37.5 in Europe but they only make full sizes so these are a 38. I have found that to be no problem  but if I was to buy some from collection nº1, I’d probably buy size 37 as they only have one layer of leather.
  5. Beware of pointy metal edges (e.g., chair or table legs). I can’t keep still even when I’m sitting so I have learned that it is best not to push/brush/kick my Josefinas against legs of tables or chairs, especially metal ones. The softness of the leather does mean it is more delicate than other leather or synthetic materials.

wpid-wp-1423891055681.jpeg

 

I walk a lot – to work, to the supermarket, everywhere I can, really. A good walking shoe is essential to my lifestyle. You will never catch me walking to work in running shoes, but all my shoes must have that good-for-walking quality. These haven’t disappointed. They are surprisingly sturdy.

I do have to look into ways to preserve them well, as I walk so much. I am thinking about paying a visit to my favourite cobbler one of these days to see what advice he has.

I do also wonder how they’ll perform on a rainy day and what extra care I can give them to keep them looking great for long. What do you do to preserve and extend the life of your leather shoes?


 


 

8 thoughts on “Josefinas {Ballet Flats}

    • Thanks Kristian! I have been struggling to find reviews of products that are more than “unboxings” so I didn’t want to add to those. I have been wearing these since January and this has given me enough time and experience that I thought may be helpful to others🙂

  1. Definitely very helpful Rita. He did such a great job picking them out too. I keep a pair of those emergency foldable ballet flats with a shoe bag in my hand bag on days I’m wearing suede shoes (even if they have been waterproofed etc) or delicate leather shoes so if it rains I have an alternative and I can pop my shoes into the shoe bag🙂

  2. You can try putting phillips soles in them to make them more durable and a good wipe of shoe cream from time to time is a good protection from the weather, although it’s better not to use them if it’s raining a lot so they don’t get soaked.
    They seem lovely and what a great gift!🙂

Leave a Reply

