On Mondays

I have recently realised that, despite having a Monday-to-Friday office job, I quite like Mondays.

In fact, I think I like my Mondays more now, than when I was doing my own thing and didn’t have to be somewhere at a certain time everyday of the week.

I won’t lie. I have found this puzzling. I definitely expected to have a certain aversion to Mondays when I started on this career path, so lacking in the freedom I had in my previous one.

wpid-2014-10-11-09.59.52-1.jpg.jpeg

Of course, this may be because I like my job (go figure!) and am actually free to enjoy my weekends. But I wonder if it may also have something to do with the fact that my Mondays often have a certain Friday feeling.

I recently noticed that I have been picking quite casual outfits for Mondays. This may be a direct consequence of the casual nature of Mondays at my job, as they tend to be less formal than the remaining of the week.

wpid-2014-10-11-09.51.33-1.jpg.jpeg

For whatever reason, the result has been a reinforcement of the belief that Mondays are yet another day in my life that I am grateful for.

See, the thing is, for some random reason, there’s a day called Monday every seven days. That gives us an illusion of a loop but the reality is that we’re in a continuum. We’re not going around in circles but, instead, keep moving forward – even when we don’t feel like that’s the case.

wpid-2014-10-11-09.46.09-3.jpg.jpeg

Tomorrow will be yet another Monday but it will be a new day.

If picking up a casual work outfit helps to have a more positive attitude towards it, so be it. Just because they have the same name every week, it doesn’t mean I should take them for granted – Carpe diem!

The outfit:

  • Coat, dress, cardigan, sunglasses – Mango
  • Tote – Cuyana
  • Boots – Sapataria Vassalo, Santarém (Portugal)
  • Foulard – no brand
  • Watch – Fossil

 

4 thoughts on “On Mondays

    • Thanks Anna. I love the colour of that scarf. It’s just such a beautiful blue 🙂 I’ve only discovered it paired well with this coat recently though. I love when I find new ways of combining old items in my wardrobe 🙂

Leave a Reply

