A Functional {Travel} Wardrobe

As in my day-to-day life, I’ve been trying to make my travel wardrobe a functional wardrobe.

This is not just because I’ve had enough of carrying heavy suitcases, but mostly because I think that holidays are better spent enjoying the moment, not wasting time wondering what to wear.

image

Wandering through old streets in Porto: Travel is for wandering, not to spend time wondering what to wear!

As you may be able to tell by my previous posts, I recently spent a few days in Paris. I took with me exactly 5 outfits – one for each day I was there, plus travel day. It turned out that even that was one outfit too many. It never got cool enough to wear my long sleeve black dress.

Á Paris

That was fine because, with an ever more functional wardrobe, most items I took with me could easily be mixed and matched to create a new combination if need be.

I didn’t always pack this way in the past, and pretty much always ended up overpacking. But this time around I decided to put some thought into it – how many days I’d be away, what I was going for, what the weather would be like…

Then I made a list of the items I thought would work, including shoes and accessories. I worked on that list, trimming it and writing down possible outfit combinations. A few days before packing, I laid out the outfits and removed anything that appeared unnecessary (a foulard here, a cardigan there).

And that’s how I ended up with a perfectly functional travel wardrobe and a light suitcase, with plenty of room for some annual shopping. The hubby introduced me to Uniqlo and we took the opportunity to replace some basics. But that’s a story for another day!

:::Thanks for reading and happy weekend!:::

2 thoughts on “A Functional {Travel} Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

