Paris Day 3 OOTD: Le Breton à le Musée d’Orsay

While the Louvre is definitely a museum not to be missed, le musée d’Orsay is my personal favourite. I love the history of the building, its architectural style, and, above all, it contains some of my most adored pieces of art.

image

I put some thought into planning this outfit before I left. Initially, I thought about wearing my Popbasic’s Le Breton with navy trousers. That works well too. But I wanted something a bit more special for this museum and for my first outfit with Le Breton.

image

I’ve had this Mango skirt since early 2010 and it’s a constant in my Summer travel suitcase. It’s very light, doesn’t wrinkle easily and works well both day or night. It’s a very special skirt as my aunt gave it to me for my birthday and first visit to New Zealand. So, it was only fitting that I’d wear my special skirt to see my favourite paintings.

image

I have to say it was a bit of an emotional encounter. Honestly, I’d never experienced such a reaction at the sight of a painting. Maybe it was all those years admiring Monet’s work. Maybe it was the waiting – it’s been about 14 years since I’d last been to Paris and Orsay was closed at the time so I couldn’t visit!

image

Whatever it was, it resulted in an unforgettable museum experience. I’d go back in a heartbeat!

image

The outfit: Popbasic’s Le Breton, Mango polka dot foulard, Mango skirt, ShoeDazzle leopard print flats, Cuyana Tote (stone). The makeup: Chanel Vitalumière Aqua foundation (30 Beije), Bourjois little round pot blush (Rose Coup De Foudre, 16), Antipodes Hit Me With Your Best Shot lipstick.

4 thoughts on “Paris Day 3 OOTD: Le Breton à le Musée d’Orsay

  1. Okay so- so much I love about this post! Le Musee D’Orsay! Monet! That specific painting! And, of course, your outfit. The Le Breton looks fantastic and so do- so perfect for a day at the museum.

    I loved the Orsay, in many ways my favorite museum, though… Musee De L’Orangerie is where Monet’s Les Nymphéas- the circular paintings- are housed and that was the most amazing experience to be able to see those paintings. I’d dreamed about seeing them since being a little girl and it was a… numinous experience, rather. Very still, very beautiful, very contemplative act. So glad you got to experience that too with this work!

    • It’s so great. I now feel that experiencing new art is great but seeing a beloved painting from your childhood for the first time is absolutely amazing! Speaks to the importance of exposing children to art from a young age too. Thank you so much for your comment. I’m glad you enjoyed this post too!

Leave a Reply

