{Not} A Glass Slipper Story – OOTD

I read this post by Kristian at Never Fully Dressed (Without a Style), and immediately thought of my very own “perfect item” that immediately turned out to be  a bit of a struggle to remix.

This is one of those items that I’ve had for many, many years. I was 16 when this skirt and I first crossed paths. For the first few years, I couldn’t think of any other combination than to pair it with a black top.

For that reason, and also because there was a while there it just didn’t fit with my Uni student style, I actually didn’t wear it for many Winters. But I couldn’t let go of it either – I loved it and deep down knew it had potential. I just wasn’t able to unlock it back then.

wpid-wp-1408859373260.jpeg

Over 10 years had passed when, during a very cold and snowy Winter in England, I ventured out into a beautifully sunny and white Brighton day wearing this skirt with my new (at the time) Cath Kidston polka dot blue gumboots.

I put those two together out of necessity – my warmest skirt with the most appropriate footwear – but a light went on. I couldn’t believe I had never tried to pair this skirt with anything other than black! Since then, I’ve paired it with blue, brown, yellow, salmon, forest green…

wpid-wp-1408940281593.jpeg

My current favourite though, is the combination below which I came up with this Winter. I felt like wearing this skirt one morning but didn’t want to wear it with a turtle neck. I opened my shirt drawer and that stripped one was right there. Ta-Da!

wpid-wp-1408859352532.jpeg

For work, I often wear a red belt over the cardigan to add a bit of definition. I call it my Winter Nautical look. 

wpid-wp-1408940251314.jpeg

 And there you have it. A skirt that remained a bit difficult to wear for many years but that I finally uncovered its remixing potential. Considering its great quality, I’m thinking I’ll be remixing it for many Winters to come! 

wpid-wp-1408860353489.jpeg

 

Thanks Kristian, for inspiring me to put this post together on my very own [not] a glass slipper. 

If you have such an item, don’t forget to share your story below! I’d love to hear about it. 

2 thoughts on “{Not} A Glass Slipper Story – OOTD

Leave a Reply

