A Work #OOTD

Over 3 years ago, I was inspired by the ladies at Academichic to start keeping a record of my daily outfits. Over the years, this has been a personal exercise that has helped me learn about my own style and my wardrobe.

Being aware of what works for me, what I already own and the different possible combinations has been essential in my journey to become a more mindful consumer. 

While I have always enjoyed blogs with outfit posts, I myself have not placed that focus on my blog. I started recording my outfits well before I started my blog and when I did start my blog it was primarily to share my Polyvore sets and other bits of inspiration.

The creative focus I placed on my blog felt, to me, unrelated to my practical and personal approach to outfit recording. This was despite some of my sets being inspired by pieces I already own or outfits I actually put together.

Recently, however, some of you have asked about my actual outfits which I sometimes share on instagram

I thought it could be fun to start sharing some of those here as well so I’ll start with this Made-in-Portugal work outfit – yup, all made in Portugal with exception of the tights. 

22May2014

I don’t have a daily approach to outfit recording but, instead, a first-time approach. This aligns with the purpose I place on this exercise – to keep a record of what I have and how I can combine it. 

I had planned to wear this dress with a dark grey wool blazer but it was still quite warm for Autumn. I decided to try my green blazer and was quite happy with the result. The ankle boots are navy blue but I really wanted to wear them with this dress. 

IMGP6571

Black is not a big feature in my wardrobe but I had been searching for a black dress that I could wear at work and other occasions. The classic shape of the dress seemed perfect to me but it was the neckline that really attracted my attention. I like how they balanced a very simple dress with such an unusual feature. 

:::Outfit Breakdown:::

Dress and Blazer – Analogia

Tights – Calzedonia

Ankle Boots – Sapataria Vassalo, Santarém, Portugal

{I keep a record of my outfits of Flickr}

2 thoughts on “A Work #OOTD

Leave a Reply

