The Foundation Series {Intro}

I’m going to go straight to business: I don’t wear foundation often.

The truth is, I tend to prefer my own skin/complexion to the results I get with a full-face foundation.

Take my wedding make-up as an example. It consisted of lipstick (Rouge Coco #14 Muse), blush (Bourjois Little Round Pot #34 Lune d’Or), a little bit of under-eye concealer (MAC studio finish NC30) and eye make-up (which I styled myself using a Body Shop primerShimmer Cubes palette #06, and Maybelline The One by One Volum’Express mascara, waterproof of course).

Sorting my eye make-up on my wedding day...yup, cray cray!

Sorting my eye make-up on my wedding day…yup, cray cray!

I have always been, and still am, prone to breakouts but was lucky not to have any on that day. Mind you, I really stepped up my skincare routine a couple of months before the wedding and was happily surprised to see it work!

Wedding-day make-up selection: putting the foundation to the side...

Wedding-day make-up selection: putting the foundation to the side…

The reality was, I felt 100% comfortable about my skin and complexion on that special day. Even though I had tried a couple of looks with foundation, on the day I just felt I’d look better without it.

This is how I feel about my skin most days. I love a bit of blush, almost always some mascara and always lipstick. But foundation? Well, Clinique Anti-Blemish Solutions (#03) when I have a breakout (but only on the spot area, not full face), a bit of Mac Studio Finish concealer when those dark circles show a bit more, and that’s it.

However, my complexion tends to look healthier in the Summer and, at thirty, that healthy look doesn’t seem to last as far into Winter as it used to. Let’s just say that pale, white skin doesn’t go that well with yellow undertones!

So, for a while now I have been looking for a foundation that highlights the best about my skin instead of just hiding the worst, if that makes any sense. Something I could use to complement my skincare routine, but not have to worry about it clogging my pores or even look mildly powdery. I really dislike a powdery look!

In this series, I will be sharing my views on a few foundations that I purchased with that goal in mind. One’s Kiko’s BB Glow Compact foundation (that I mentioned on my Europe haul recently) and another one’s Chanel’s Vitalumière Aqua. I will also be sharing my opinion on Lush’s Colour Supplement and Bellápierre’s compact mineral foundation.

If this is something you’re interested in, stay tuned for this week’s series!

xo, Rita

—–

Update: Here are all the series’ posts:

I – Lush {Colour Supplement}

II – Bellapiérre {Compact Mineral Foundation}

III – Kiko Cosmetics {BB Glow Compact Foundation}

IV – Chanel {Vitalumière Aqua}

3 thoughts on “The Foundation Series {Intro}

  1. Pingback: The Foundation Series I: Lush {Colour Supplement} | Fashion pas

  2. Pingback: Chanel {Vitalumière Aqua} | Fashion pas

  3. Pingback: The Foundation Series {Wrap Up} | Fashion pas

Leave a Reply

