Review – Eye Cream L’Oreal Revitalift

***Update December 2012: Thanks for stopping by! I wrote this review a few months ago and still stand by it; I am now at the end of my second jar and will repurchase. Be aware, though, that this post is content heavy so if you just want to know what I thought of the cream, jump to the text after the image. Also, let me know if this helped you in any way! Cheers! ***

A while ago I started looking for an eye cream.

I had been told by the older women in my family that, unlike our bone genes, we have great skin genes. Looking at the available sample, sure, it does seem like they may be right. Even the 80 year-old aunt still has a soft, almost wrinkle-free skin. And you should see my older sis! Eight years older than me and people still think she’s in her mid twenties!

But I was having none of that. A couple of months ago, I was looking at the mirror one morning after washing my face and there it was, an actual wrinkle under my eye. Not the cute expression ones that I have always found an interesting feature, no. An actual line that hadn’t been there before. I was actually a bit shocked to be honest. Not just at that sign of the inevitable passage of time, but also shocked to realize how much I actually cared!

So I stepped up my efforts to find something that would not only help me get rid of that, but also prevent any future ones.

My first step was to look into the scientific literature on epithelial cell growth. Yup, I did that. Scientific research is out there, available to all. And, odds are, it holds the answers to your questions. There is simply no excuse to be a mindless consumer. Particularly if we’re talking about something that your body will absorb.

Compared to the hundreds of products out there, there are relatively few topical agents that are scientifically proven to help with wrinkles or other skin ageing signs.

It turns out that one thing that seems to have significant and scientifically proven benefits is something called retinoic acid, a metabolite of vitamin A. However, retinoic acid for topical use has some side effects, particularly on sensitive skin. So, it seems that a way to get it into your skin is through other forms of vitamin A. Your cells have ways to break down vitamin A into retinoic acid, so if there’s an agent in them that can be broken down into that, it will.

There is some evidence that another form of vitamin A, commonly known as retinol, might be a good way. Once in your cell, the retinol can be transformed into retinoic acid, achieving the desired results, minus the potential surface rash. That’s the main idea, of course. There are some questions regarding how much retinol you need to get enough retinoic acid to achieve any visible results, but that’s more evidence than much of the products out there!

So, now onto finding an eye cream with that!

It seems that not all brands have an eye cream with retinol. I thought that if it said “anti-wrinkle” it would have that component, but it doesn’t. If you’re searching the market for something that works, it’s up to you to look for the evidence behind the effectiveness of the product. Also, each brand will have different quantities of the agent in the cream, so you need to check that out too.

Since I was looking for something affordable, I picked L’Oreal Revitalift®. This product is, in the words of the brand “enriched with powerful anti-wrinkle ingredients, Pro-Retinol A® and Elastin“. I thought it was a good place to start!

I must be honest, I did not expect it to work. And by “work” I mean, make that line go away, disappear, make it the way it was before. I mean, who believes these things work? Seriously?? But about two weeks after I first started using it (and this was twice a day, morning and before bed), I could no longer see that line.

I am pretty happy about this product, really. It did, for me, exactly what it says it does. There may be other eye creams out there that work, but as an affordable solution, this has definitely achieved its intended purpose.

I will point out, however, that this is my experience with it. I am 29, I try to drink plenty of water, have veggies at every meal (I love me some spinach, great sources of vitamin A), I don’t smoke, I sleep early and hardly ever stay out late. These are also important lifestyle aspects in keeping your skin healthy and young. Besides, we’re talking about early ageing signs. I can’t comment on how it would work on someone older and/or with more wrinkles.

Still, I would definitely recommend it as an extra source of retinoic acid for the skin around your eyes. Any help on that front is welcome!

p.s. No, L’Oreal did not sponsor this review. I wish!

p.s. 2 – I am aware this is a product from their over 40 range. But who cares? Cosmetic companies will do anything to get your money, including convincing you you need to buy a bunch of stuff you don’t just because it’s for your age group. Get what you really need, not what they say you need…

4 thoughts on “Review – Eye Cream L’Oreal Revitalift

  1. Pingback: Advanced Style « Fashion pas

  2. Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept talking about this. I will send this article to him. Fairly certain he’s going
    to have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

